Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Zorn Five

This is my fifth Anders Zorn study and last one before I attend IMC. Tried to focus mostly on composition for this one. Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid.


Wednesday, May 11, 2016

This is my fourth Anders Zorn study, any feedback is welcome.


For this study I painted in greyscale first and then added color over top. Once again the saturation in my shadows seems to have deserted me.

I used the method demonstrated by Stanley Lau in his recent “How to add colors to greyscale”. Created in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.


Saturday, May 7, 2016

plein air cave on surface...

 My first attempt at a "Plein Air" painting while visiting San Gregorio Beach today with my family.

 Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Day 74, Monday May 2 at 9am

Day 74, Monday May 2 at 9am

It has been a little while since I posted any paint work. I am focusing on master copies for now. Here is another Anders Zorn MasterCopy.

Painted in Clip Studio Paint on a Surface Pro 2.


Monday, March 21, 2016

Anders Zorn MasterCopy.

My apologies for not posting in 2 weeks.

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Friday, March 4, 2016

Day 72, Friday Mar 4 at 9pm

Anders Zorn MasterCopy..WIP

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Day 71, Wed Mar 2 at 9pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid

Difficult to paint lately..


Friday, February 26, 2016

Day 70, Friday Feb 26 at 9pm

A female head construction using the Micheal Hampton Design and invention method, and then I used a miniature model (3d printed) of a Planar Asaro head as reference, to add light and shade.

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid.



Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Day 69, Tuesday Feb 23 at 7pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Friday, February 19, 2016

Day 68, Wed Feb 18 at 5pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.

Ah Snatch, Brad as a fighter. This image feels so familiar.



Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Day 67, Wed Feb 17 at 10pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid..

Very depressed today, this week actually.


Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Day 66, Tuesday Feb 16 at 9am

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid. This is a quick one, trying to caught up after a rough last Sunday.




Saturday, February 13, 2016

Day 65, Sat Feb 13 at 8pm

I painted this while attending the San Jose sharks game tonight with my son. We had a great time, Go Sharks!
Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Thursday, February 11, 2016

Day 64, Thursday Feb 11 at 11pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid


Day 63, Wed Feb 10 at 11pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid



Wednesday, February 10, 2016

"Doppelgänger"

Inspired the Hichcock’s Vertigo, secrets revealed by a eerie green light calls into question who she may be...?

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Day 62, Tuesday Feb 9 at 9pm

Created in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

Trying a technique demonstrated by Alex Negrea where AO is defined at first then other tones added http://mrstimpson.tumblr.com/post/106534555606/artvault-alex-negrea-1-rough-line-art-i. Thanks Nicoloas :-)


Monday, February 8, 2016

WIP of a more stylized version...


Day 61, Monday Feb 8 at 9pm

Created in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

Trying a new technique by Alex Negrea where AO is defined at first then other tones added http://mrstimpson.tumblr.com/post/106534555606/artvault-alex-negrea-1-rough-line-art-i. Thanks Nicoloas :-)


Sunday, February 7, 2016

Day 60, Sunday Feb 7 at 6pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid, while watching the 50th Super Bowl.


Saturday, February 6, 2016

Day 59, Saturday Feb 6 at 7pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


I eventually want to spend more time learning animal anatomy as well. This one was a new challenge for me as my knowledge of Lion anatomy is limited.


Day 58, Thursday Feb 4 at 11pm

A stylized version of Cleopatra as played by Vivien Leigh

Created in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.


Thursday, February 4, 2016

Day 57, Thursday Feb 4 at 11pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid. Quick one today…


Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Day 56, Wed Feb 3 at 10pm Painting + Illustration

Painting version done in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

Anime version drawn on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.

Both WiP, color to come..


Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Day 55, Tuesday Feb 2 at 9pm

Painting block in done in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac. Anime version drawn on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint. Both WiP.

Time to do a few more original designs…

 A Digital Painting Odyssey To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.


Monday, February 1, 2016

Day 54, Monday Feb 01 at 9pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid.

Completed from yesterday. A bit "cartoony" as my 7 yr old daughter says.. :-)



Sunday, January 31, 2016

Day 53, Sunday Jan 31 at 9pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid. WIP, this is a quick start.


Saturday, January 30, 2016

Day 52, Saturday Jan 30 at 2pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.

A Digital Painting Odyssey

To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.


Friday, January 29, 2016

Day 51, Friday Jan 29 at 9pm

Painted in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

Painted the values first, then added color.

A Digital Painting Odyssey

To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.


Thursday, January 28, 2016

Day 50, Thursday Jan 28 at 6pm

Painted in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac. Not much time today, so this is fast, combined with another I started WIP!

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint. WIP



Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Day 49, Wednesday Jan 27 at 9pm

Painted in CloverPaint on the Cintiq Hybrid.

WIP, working details in greyscale. Hoping for peace at home someday.. 


A Digital Painting Odyssey To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.



Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Day 48, Tuesday Jan 26 at 9pm

Painted in CloverPaint on the Cintiq Hybrid. WIP, working details in greyscale..


Monday, January 25, 2016

Friday, January 22, 2016

Day 47, Friday Jan 22 at 9pm

Painted in Sketchbook Pro on the Cintiq Hybrid. WIP..


Thursday, January 21, 2016

Day 46, Thursday Jan 21 at 9pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.

A Digital Painting Odyssey

To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.

#artistebot #illustration #painting #digitalart #digital art #awesome #picoftheday #mobileart #mobile art #draw #paint


Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Day 45, Wed Jan 20 at 10pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint. WIP, line art plus initial shadow grouping.


Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Day 43, Tuesday Jan 19 at 9pm

Painted on a Apple iPad Pro/Pencil with Medibang Paint

This is the first time I have used the iPad and Medibang Paint. So far I am finding the pencil performs very well, and only with a full retina resolution image, several layers and a large brush, did the strokes slow down considerably Medibang Paint is a surprisingly feature complete app, it runs on all platforms, and is free. however the app is not yet compatible with iOS 9 split-window feature, so I relied mostly a converted image loaded into PiP.


Art tool showdown Part 2:

Apple iPad Pro w Pencil vs Wacom Cintiq, Samsung Galaxy Note, Wacom Companion Hybrid

Comparison between the iPad Pro and the Samsung Galaxy Note 12.2 is inevitable. Hardware wise, the iPad is significantly faster, more solidly built, plus the Pencil has a nice weight, length, and the tilt sensitivity allows for unique functionality. The Samsung Galaxy Note has a Silo to store the sPen, expandable storage, and the sPen is Wacom EMR, with a button on it.

Software wise Android seems to have better options for multitasking. Samsung OS has much better multi window functions, plus the google play store has several apps that offer multitask / multi-window / floating functions. Multi-tasking on ios 9 is new but somewhat limited. Spit view offer two panes that can be 50/50 or 70/30 shared in size. the smaller view can only by the right pane. Split view does not work well for me as I am right handed and I prefer the reference image to be in the smaller pane. Pip (floating window) only supports video. I used photoshop to convert several ref images to a video format, That worked much better for screen economy but is limited in size and placement.

Workflow wise, IMHO Android (and windows) is far better than iOS. Multitasking is flexible with many options, several apps offer options to bind the device hardware buttons (Volume, Home, Stylus keys..etc) to in-app functions.

With Wacom technology (and n-trig) the stylus size and location can be displayed on screen when hovering near the screen, the apple Pencil does not do this. For me this is significant as using larger brushes is difficult to judge the area the stoke will affect. Finally there is file handling. I just find it more difficult to move files on and off the iPad in comparison to other operating systems.

More to come...


Monday, January 18, 2016

Day 43, Sun Jan 17 at 8pm

Painted on a Apple iPad Pro/Pencil with Sketchbook Pro.

This is the first time I have used the iPad and Sketchbook Pro. So far I am finding the pencil performs very well with little to no stroke lag, even on large “retina” images and brushes. When using larger brushes, the lack of a on-screen indicator of brush size makes painting more difficult than with a Wacom device.

I like having reference on-screen while drawing and painting.  Multitasking on ios 9 is new but somewhat limited. Spit view offer two panes that can be 50/50  or 70/30 shared in size. the smaller view can only by the right pane. Split view does work well  for me as i am right handed and the reference image is in the right pane.

Pip (floating window) only supports video. I used photoshop to convert several ref images to a video format, That worked much better for screen economy but is limited in size and placement.

System performance seemed unaffected by the extra windows.


Saturday, January 16, 2016

Day 42, Sat Jan 16 at 8pm

Painted on a Apple iPad Pro/Pencil with Procreate.

This is the first time I have used the iPad and Procreate. So far I am finding the pencil performs very well with little to no stroke lag, even on large “retina” images and brushes. When using larger brushes, the lack of a on-screen indicator of brush size makes painting different than when using Wacom technology.


Art tool showdown:

Apple iPad Pro w Pencil vs Wacom Cintiq, Samsung Galaxy Note, and Microsoft Surface Pro. My first opportunity to use the ipad Pro/Pencil for a few art studies.

I will post results with the iPad over the next few days, and compare my experience with the other tablets.


Day 41, Friday Jan 15 at 8pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint. This is a quick one…

A Digital Painting Odyssey

To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.


Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Day 40, Wed Jan 13 at 4pm

Painted in Clover Paint on the Cintiq Hybrid.

This is a quick one, I cannot concentrate today...

A Digital Painting Odyssey To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.



Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Day 39, Tuesday Jan 12 at 9pm

Painted in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

 A Digital Painting Odyssey

To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of daily painting practice study of at least 30 minutes a day using cinema screen shots. I switch different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I plan on using a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, or connected to a Macbook with photoshop CC or a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio.


Monday, January 11, 2016

Day 38, Monday Jan 11 at 7pm

Painted in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

A Digital Painting Odyssey

The goal: To find a work flow that is comfortable for me and to help get in plenty of painting practice before June 2016. I will aim for 100 consecutive studies, as it seems like a easy to remember round number.
The Method:
To produce a study in about 30 minutes or more every day from screen grabs of movies .That is roughly my length of my train commute to work, that I have been using to practice and to produce some 2D art.
The Rub: To switch each day between different digital drawing tablets to compare the tools and workflow on each. I will be using Wacom Cintiq Hybrid running Android and Clover Paint, a Surface Pro 2 running Windows 10 with Clip Paint Studio, and a Wacom Cintiq Hybrid connected to a Macbook in display mode using Clip Paint Studio or Photoshop.


Sunday, January 10, 2016

Day 37, Sun Jan 10 at 8pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Saturday, January 9, 2016

Day 36, Sat Jan 9 at 8pm

Painted on a Surface Pro 2 with Clip Studio Paint.


Friday, January 8, 2016

Day 35, Fri Jan 8 at 7pm

Painted in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac. Revisiting this image. Started with a structural sketch, and trying to maintain grouped shadows.


Thursday, January 7, 2016

Day 34, Thur Jan 7 at 9pm

Painted in Photoshop on a CIntiq Hybrid connected to a Mac.

A Digital Painting Odyssey